Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Vibrations and Out of Body Experience

zen_worldzen_world Veteran
edited May 2011 in Meditation
Hi Everybody...

I have been practicing extensive meditation for about 6 months (and becoming a new Zen Buddhist, in the process of taking my precepts). Typically I start with sitting meditation for about 2 hours followed by walking meditation and another one hour sitting meditation. Then I go to bed still maintaining my concentration and try to turn my sleep into meditation as well.
This stuff happens quite often. After I fall a sleep (or probably I might still be in meditation) I got very heavy vibrations. After some time, it became unberable and I feel like my head is going to explode. My intention is to continue my meditation but because of heavy vibrations (and energy) either I had to push myself from bed and loose my concentration or I have to expand my consciousness out of my body (referred as out of body experience or astral projection).
Now, I don't want to discuss OBE or Astral projection here, and frankly it is not important at all...You may believe it or not, it is up to you. My question is how do I continue my meditation when I experience these heavy vibrations. Is this normal? Or am I doing something wrong here?
Somewhere I read that vibrations are the final stage before entering into jhanas....Anyone can help me out, greatly appreciated...
David...
Thank you!

Comments

• taiyakitaiyaki Veteran