Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Suffering - Fear of After-life?

leahncleahnc Explorer
edited November 2011 in Faith & Religion
I fear afterlife!! The possibilities are endless! As a Christian my whole life, I always believed in Heaven/Hell. Once I started learning about Buddhism I realized rebirth/reincarnation are possibilities too?

But the not knowing for sure what happens to me is causing me a lot of stress. I mainly fear the worst kind of afterlife conceivable (like hell or worse than hell for eternity)

I view the universe as un-friendly for some reason? Even though I have no control over what happens after I die, It frightens me?
I realize no one knows for sure - but I need to be able to view this with a healthy skepticism instead of spending my life worrying about it? Is that even possible?

The thoughts are very intrusive and cause me great suffering.

Comments

• Hiya!

You never know what the future is going to bring. You can't even know what is going to happen tomorrow, let alone what happens after you die. So it is a waste of time to be worrying about it too much. You can contemplate it of course, but don't get caught up in in.

In Buddhism, following the Buddha's teaching prevents rebirth in a lower realm, so you do have control over it. But even if you get reborn in a lower realm, it is not going to be forever because nothing is constant.

With metta,
    Sabre
  • The sun shines on you whether you are a saint or sinner. Nothing out here is short of communion.