Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhism and music?

JayjayJayjay Veteran
edited December 2011 in Buddhism Basics
Hi. I'm a long time musician, way before my interest in Buddhism or meditation. I play many instruments but mainly the bass guitar and the ukulele. I also listen to a lot of music, selectively: rock N roll/ hair metal. I'm wondering if I may continue my endeavors in music (playing/listening) mindfully without polluting my mind with anger/hate/or any other negative emotion. Rock N Roll does have a very negatively orieted basis I guess but I don't seem to feel anger or hate or any other negative emotions when I listen to it. Same lies with my playing music. Please help me out and thank you all. (:

Comments

• edited December 2011
    There is a precept for monks that says monks may not listen to music; or, if you interpret it more liberally, non-religious music; but you can go even farther to say negative music in general.

That only applied to the ordained. Really, you can do whatever you want when practicing Buddhism. The only path to salvation is to look within. Do you feel if it is a negative influence on you? Really, deep down, putting away your biases and opinions and wants, do you feel as though the music affects you negatively? If not, then I would see no reason for you to discontinue listening to it. But as I have noted, it is ultimately up to you. Buddhism is about your personal journey to liberation - only you can decide how to live your life.
  • Somebody else asked this and I remembered something my lama said about this but I cannot remember.