Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Does anyone know of places in which it is possible to become a Buddhist Nun?

edited February 2012 in Sanghas
I am looking to dedicating my practice seriously for some time, and then coming back into society better equipped and having explored the depths- being able to share something. I have been practicing Buddhism for 5 years, and living a normal life which is fine of course, but I feel a deep longing to immerse myself fully as one does on retreats, but for at least 2 years. I was looking for somewhere that would not only accept Nun's, but also a place where there would be access to teachings in English, although I would be happy of course to learn the local language, wherever that place would be. I have searched on internet and not found anything, and the Sangha for which I am part of offers retreats for months at a time, but I am looking on really dedicating my life full time to the practice. Any thoughts or ideas would be most welcome.

Comments

• patbbpatbb Veteran
    edited February 2012
    http://www.dhammasara.org.au/

check out Ajahn Brahm dhamma talks if you are not familiar with him

http://www.youtube.com/user/BuddhistSocietyWA

you might want to check out this website as well for info about bhikkhuni
    http://www.bhikkhuni.net
    bhikkhuni = nun
  • DakiniDakini Veteran
    edited February 2012
    Hi, 3jules. Welcome to the forum.