Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Statement trying to understand

shanyinshanyin Novice YoginSault Ontario Veteran
edited March 2012 in Buddhism Basics
Can someone explain?

My teacher's friend asked Kalu Rinpoche if there was an end to spiritual developement and he said:

As far as I can see the unfolding is endless.

Comments

• misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    my view: Kalu Rinpoche may be talking about the unfolding of reality and as it shall end only on attainment of Nirvana and may be Kalu Rinpoche has not attained Nirvana till that time of saying the above statement, so he said the above statement.
  • shanyinshanyin Novice Yogin Sault Ontario Veteran
    Just noticed my statement was slightly off

He asked if he saw an end to spiritual developement and he said

as far as I can see from here the unfolding is endless
  • shanyinshanyin Novice Yogin Sault Ontario Veteran
    thank you for your answer

I think he mentioned that it was just before he died, memory is a bit hazy from that retreat however
  • I think that it means you can never see the end because there is no end. No matter how far you get in your practice, there is always something you have yet to conquer.
  • VictoriousVictorious Grim Veteran
    I was just about to come to the end of my spiritual development but then I took an arrow to the knee.

lol.

No but seriously. Even the Buddhas have not perfected everything.

/Victor
  • ZeroZero Veteran
    Can someone explain?