Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Jiro Dreams of Sushi and the art of perfecting your craft

Comments

• zombiegirlzombiegirl beating the drum of the lifeless in a dry wasteland Veteran
    Awesome article as usual, Brian. This is probably a lesson I should work on learning...
  • BaileyDBaileyD Explorer
    I work in construction. Housing to be specific. I rarely get to see a true craftsman anymore, but when I do I have to stop and watch. There is something truly amazing about someone who can perform a task and make it look so easy and make it look like art all at the same time. I admire true skill and dedication.

In my work, electrical, I strive for the same. Some of my co-workers don't seem to care much as our work is soon covered up with sheetrock, but I want my work to be art. I want someone to remove the sheetrock years from now and admire the attention to detail. Or not. I did a job I am proud of and that is all that really matters.
  • BrianBrian Detroit, MI Moderator
    As a person who is renovating a 113-year-old home, I can say this:

What you do may not be appreciated now, but it will be. Every single thing we uncover during the renovation makes us have renewed respect for the anonymous craftsmen that built the home. 113 years later, everything is still sound and solid as a rock. Beautiful work. And to stand there and think that everything around us was built by hand, with hand tools, from hardwood carried in by horses is just breathtaking.
  • federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator