Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

I am trying to understand how Buddhism views Mental Health...Schizophrenia?

DaltheJigsawDaltheJigsaw Mountain View Veteran
edited April 2012 in General Banter
Is there a remedy for Schizophrenia by using Buddhism? I am trying to understand how Buddhism views Schizophrenia?

Comments

• edited April 2012
    Bekenze doesn't think Buddhism can help. We certainly don't.
  • DaltheJigsawDaltheJigsaw Mountain View Veteran
    I see. I suppose it's out of reach for all religions? I am studying Clinical Psychology right now.
  • Bekenze doesn't think Buddhism can help. We certainly don't.
    I see. I suppose it's out of reach for all religions? I am studying Clinical Psychology right now.
    *cough* That was supposed to be a joke... :-/
  • vinlynvinlyn Colorado...for now Veteran
    In my view, at least based on my visits to, and living Thailand, the topic is more a cultural one than any widely based Buddhist attitude toward it.
    Sorry, I am in deep thought. Was doing some self-realization. Wonder if I have something like that..
    In my view, at least based on my visits to, and living Thailand, the topic is more a cultural one than any widely based Buddhist attitude toward it.
    Care to add a little bit more? You mean depending on the culture, people feel different about it? But does that mean that they are ignoring it?
  • Well one thing is that schizophrenia is heterogenous I believe. Each patient is specific to their life-mind-body.

No quick fixes and one size fits all.