Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What can and can't you do?

Captain_AmericaCaptain_America Explorer
edited September 2012 in Buddhism Basics
Alright so I'm confused. I'm a total noob when it comes to Buddhism (well not total, I have done a bit of reading which is why I'm confused). And I've been having a hard time clarifying what is and isn't allowed.

I was reading a thread on here where people had mentioned that they smoked/drank for example. So I think to myself, "wait a minute, is that even allowed?" so I look into the precepts and drugs/alcohol and basically fun (music, dancing etc) are prohibited.

What exactly am I not understanding here? Are those precepts only for the uber strict to follow? Only for a certain branch of Buddhism? Where's the side of Buddhism where this is allowed, because I think that's where I want to go :P

And if different branches/schools of Buddhism can differ so greatly, does that make any one more correct than the other?

Yeah multiple questions I know, but I wanted to get as much in as I could in one post lol. One more thing, what exactly is prohibited by like all schools? Killing? Because I'm totally bad at that (not because I kill people, but insects....lots of them...)

Comments

• CloudCloud Veteran
    edited September 2012
    The Five Precepts are the ones that lay Buddhists are supposed to adhere to (so this doesn't cover things like not dancing or listening to music... those are further precepts for monks/nuns to adhere to).