Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Procrastination

Currently I have an assignment I need to finish as part of a masters degree I'm studying by distance learning. I had three to do and have submitted two of them already in the past week. I always leave things to the last minute and then as the stress builds up and I have this impending doom hanging over me I finally do what I need to do to get through it. There has to be an easier way. I will find other things to do instead and just can't focus when I try to study. It's not that I don't enjoy the subject and I'm used to studying having done it at various levels for the past 14 years since leaving full time school. I think perhaps I've had enough if it all now and need to stop studying but I somehow have to make it to the end if this academic year in March to pass this course.

Thoughts/comments/wise words please...

Comments

• Here's a song I wrote about procrastination
    http://www.myspace.com/music/player?sid=86586366&ac=now
    andyrobyn
  • karastikarasti Breathing Minnesota Moderator
    When I was in college, I actually found I procrastinated more, the longer I waited. I started doing my work the day I got the assignment for big papers and projects, and usually had them done 2 months in advance, unless there was a specific time line to follow. If I waited to start it, the load just seemed to build and the more it built, the more I put it off. Then at the end of the term, I only had to worry about my finals, plus it gave me ample time to review my paper/project and make any changes.