Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What are the major differences between Hinduism and Buddhism?

2»

Comments

• I know no Buddhist teachers who would agree with you on that Florian....check it out with some.
  • misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    edited January 2013

robot said:

I am touring Thailand at the moment. I have seen people kneeling before statues that have not existed for centuries. People adorning with incense, candles, and such, objects that have only the vaguest connection to what might have been an image of Buddha, like a footprint for example, or the broken off feet of a statue.
    I have visited dozens of temples in which people are worshiping statues. It is normal in Buddhism.

I don't see it as worship be cause worship is where you worship something as a deity and the Buddha said not to wroship him as a god so it would be blatantly ignioring him to worship him. The way I see it is paying respect to the statues to gain respect for the Dharma so you practice it more and reach enlightenment faster and also make offerings like incense, candles, flowers etc to reduce greed which is one of the three poisons.
    well - make offerings like incense, candles, flowers etc to reduce greed which is one of the three poisons - never thought that these things are offered to reduce greed, rather i think that these things are offered with greed in mind to get something in the material world. different perspectives of seeing things.
  • edited January 2013