Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How to control ego? Please suggest.

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited December 2012 in Buddhism Basics
Hi All,

I think i have too much ego in me. whatever i do, there is something in me which always tries to see what advantage i have in it, whether i am getting praised by others, whether i am getting fame in it - sometimes whenever there is an occasion, something in me always tries to see what benefit there is for me, what advantage i can get here etc. All these things add up to my conceit.

even small things like i update something in any social site like facebook and then something in me looks and wants to see how many likes are there for me. if i upload some photograph in any social site like facebook, something in me wants there should be some likes for it and when i see some likes, something gets happy in me or if there is any comment in which i am praised, this adds to my conceit.

may be i am too self-centered, selfish, egoistic person.

So please tell me how to control my ego and reduce my conceit or my pride. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• lobsterlobster Veteran
    edited December 2012
    Have you considered the 8 fold path?
    We are all on the same raft . . . :wave:
    You could try devotion to something other than yourself . . .
    Sabre
  • misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    edited December 2012
    lobster said:

Have you considered the 8 fold path?
    We are all on the same raft . . . :wave: