Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Procrastination

TheEccentricTheEccentric Hampshire, UK Veteran
I always leave things too the last minute, with meditation especially and reading about and studying BUddhism in general and leave them so long often I can only do part of the practice or not do it and it really is limiting myself.

Is there any way that I can stop this or should I just try my best to control myself?

Comments

• FoibleFullFoibleFull Canada Veteran
    There is no technique .. you either do or you don't.
    Not to sound superior ... my husband thinks I majored in Procrastination at university!
    But it's like quitting smoking or anything else that requires self-discipline. You do or you don't.
  • Procrastination is basically a passive-aggressive action and something most of us have encountered when it comes to meditation.

Usually there is some subconscious reason you're sabotaging yourself. Figure that out and the problem will resolve itself in due time.

Until then, just do your best. Give yourself an hours warning (maybe set an alarm or something) before you go to sit, then you can finish up whatever you're doing to give yourself the space to practice. Make it as easy as you can for yourself.
  • TheEccentricTheEccentric Hampshire, UK Veteran
    Thankyou, no problem I'll just have to use my willpower
  • howhow Veteran Veteran
    Buddhist practise is always dependent on the priority you give it over the other stimuli in your life. It is really just that simple. Manifesting it though, is the practise.
  • Contemplate death and how precious your life is.

How little time you have.