Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Passionate Preaching

AmidaAmida Explorer
edited December 2012 in Faith & Religion
I often hear Christian preachers using very emotional appeals, like preaching we ought to live like Jesus and follow the Sermon on the Mount. I agree with them that one ought to follow the Sermon on the Mount, but I don't care for the appeal to my emotions with passionate preaching and music.

Does anyone know if the Buddha ever lifted his voice in passionate preaching? And what do you think about passionate preaching that appeals to emotion?

Comments

• misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    Amida said:

I often hear Christian preachers using very emotional appeals, like preaching we ought to live like Jesus and follow the Sermon on the Mount. I agree with them that one ought to follow the Sermon on the Mount, but I don't care for the appeal to my emotions with passionate preaching and music.

Does anyone know if the Buddha ever lifted his voice in passionate preaching? And what do you think about passionate preaching that appeals to emotion?

@Amida: i think seeing your first paragraph the question should come - Does Buddhist preachers lift voice in passionate preaching like we should live like Buddha?