Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

choosing a path

So i have been practising buddhism in a general sense for only a few months and i am now contemplating whether it would be beneficial to me to choose a chain of buddhism to practise. I was wondering what my fellow buddhists had to offer me in answering this question.
Deepankar

Comments

• BhikkhuJayasaraBhikkhuJayasara Bhikkhu Veteran
    For me there was a moment it "clicked" when I found and began to learn Theravada. I found it fit my world view like a glove and it became part of me.

I had first found out about Buddhism through the dalai lama and Tibetan however it never fit and I had too many reservations and such.

So check out all the different traditions and if one strongly fits you, then naturally follow that. If no specific tradition calls to you then don't feel that you HAVE to pick one. All traditions have the same core teachings and go off on their own tangents from there.

The most important thing is to practice.
    Wisdom23ThailandTom
  • There is a pain to realizing that not all agree with each other. Don't worry about that pain and just keep in mind that all the individual constituents of streams are better off with their path than they would be without, in general.