Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Suffering, Dukkha

shanyinshanyin Novice YoginSault Ontario Veteran
Apparently the Buddha spoke the ancient Indian language called Pali. Also, there is no one word equivalent for 'dukkha'.

What does Dukkha mean? Is there a Pali word for suffering and did he use it?

Comments

• shanyinshanyin Novice Yogin Sault Ontario Veteran
    Thank you paige that helps.
    paige
  • misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    edited April 2013
    To understand what the Buddha meant, it's important to understand what dukkha means.
    The word usually is translated into English as "suffering." But it also means temporary, limited and imperfect. In the Buddhist sense, it refers to anything that is conditioned. Something that is conditioned is not absolute or independent of other things.

Thus, something beautiful and pleasant is dukkha, because it will end. For example, a new sports car is dukkha, because eventually it will be a rustbucket.
    My understanding of Buddha's teachings says: dukkha means unsatisfactoriness, a feeling of something missing in it to give everlasting happiness. all conditioned pheomena are anicca(impermanent), dukkha(unsatisfactory) and anatta(non-self or not mine).