Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

questions regarding mind

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited May 2013 in Philosophy
hi all,

while browsing through internet, came across this web-page : http://buddha-inside.blogspot.in/2009/05/self-liberation-through-seeing-with.html

on reading it, i saw the lines:
Everything that appears is but a manifestation of mind.
Even though the entire external inanimate universe appears to you, it is but a manifestation of mind.
Even though all of the sentient beings of the six realms appear to you they are but a manifestation of mind.

it seems to me that everything is manifestation of mind because it is the mind which experiences everything. but then the question arises - what is mind? does mind exist or does not exist? my thinking says: if mind did not exist, then thoughts could not arise, but since thoughts arise in mind, so mind exist. but mind also cannot exist independently. so mind neither exists, nor does not exist. :eek2:

Is mind empty?
my understanding: Emptiness as i understand is empty of inherent existence, that is empty of essence. So if mind was having essence, then it can exist independently - but mind depends on body - so mind is empty of inherent existence.

please share your thoughts about above questions about mind. is my above thinking and above understanding correct? if not correct, then please correct it.

on reading the above link, it seemed to me that it is same as zen method of meditation of just sitting. So does the above link has same or different method of meditation from zen? please suggest. thanks in advance.

Comments