Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Esoterica now available

When I studied Shingon, I was totally unaware that the teacher was uninitiated and in some aspects fraudulent and abusive. However they also taught things that worked within what I required and considered spiritual at the time. This included martial arts as a spiritual grounding and discipline, dynamic yoga with much corrective and healing and a solitary practice of study and concentration. We might regard such a teacher as having dharma but not sila.
http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/544010/sila
The worst readily available examples of such 'teaching' is the compliance of the sham students, never acknowledging flawed individuals and even explaining abusive behaviour as . . . well that is for them to justify . . .
Later on we begin to differentiate between sham 'esoterica' and the real nature of hidden or ineffable teachings. Esoteric or hidden dharmas are not magic tricks or techniques which are taught to spiritual conjurers. Such 'witchcraft' keeps some of us chasing rainbow belts or bodies, chakra retuning and 'my little llama' for years. Real inner 'dharma' can not be taught. It can be illustrated, exemplified and enacted. In effect even mundane virtue is hidden by our inability of perception or lack of experience. The 'initiated' always welcome each to share. They will make you better, if that is your goal. They are not the friends of your egos, your sense of worth, your sense of personal spiritual entitlement.