Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Shunyata

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited June 2013 in Buddhism Basics
hi all,

i was browsing on internet and saw different web-pages on emptiness. so i got some theoretical understanding about emptiness and thought of sharing with you all.

shunyata in Sanskrit - is usually translated as emptiness or voidness in English - this translation suggests a feeling of nothingness, as if nothing is existing - but this is not the meaning of shunyata.

i have found the following meanings of shunyata, which seems ok:

- shunyata or emptiness means empty of any inherent existence, means empty of its own beingness or empty of its own essence. like table is empty of tableness, chair is empty of chairness etc.

- emptiness in a way is caused by dependent origination, as explained by Nagarjuna. since there is dependent origination, so things are empty of independent existence and since nothing independently exists so empty of inherent existence, so there is dependent origination. in this way, everything is empty and even emptiness is empty of itself - as emptiness is caused by dependent origination and dependent origination is empty because there is no independent existence and the relationship between emptiness and dependent origination is empty because it depends on emptiness and dependent origination. So everything is empty, including emptiness itself.