Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What is suicide?

JohnGJohnG Veteran
edited August 2013 in Buddhism Basics
What if suicide 'is' part of our karma in this life? How can it hurt in the next? How can one persuade one out of committing suicide, if all hope 'is' gone?

As a cop, I've been witness to this, but yet have not met anyone with these reasons, so what do I do? :om:

Comments

• I do not think suicide should be 'illegal'. I believe in assisted suicide in the matter of terminal illnesses and or extreme aged-ness.

As for religious beliefs, aka; 'suicide = sin' or 'suicide = bad karma', etc... to each his own. But to make actual laws against it? Nonsense. We are the masters of our own lives. As long as there's no harm to others, there should be no 'laws'.
    As a cop, you are in a very precarious position of doing what (you may or may not believe) is 'right' -- or doing what is required by law. I don't envy that position...
    vinlynriverflow
  • karastikarasti Breathing Minnesota Moderator