Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Enhanced Perceptions vs Sensory Desire

In the eighteen months since I started practicing to become Buddhst I have noticed that my perceptions of the world are becoming enhanced. I first noticed it with music and then sound in general, the layers of sound as I'm walking down the road can be overwhelming and I am listening to tracks I have listened to for decades and only now am I hearing some of the music involved. The colours seem brighter, my depth of field has increased and noticing the detail is incredible. I am tasting subtle flavours in my food not just the combination or strong flavours.

I am not claiming my practice has given me superpowers but quite the opposite, I thinking less about me and what I once perceived as my problems and am now starting to live in the moment.

Is this what is warned about as sensory desire? I don't seek these things but just notice them going on around me and for every moment of this there are probably ten when I am at work or just sitting alone with my thoughts and I have no craving or these moments. I don't eat expensive foods for more taste or listen to special music for the effects, I just notice if it's there.
lobsteroceancaldera207Dandelion

Comments

• aMattaMatt Veteran
    The senses rise and fade, keep walking. Sense desire is more about the drive to acquire pleasing senses or inhibit displeasing senses. As we gain concentration, more of our faculties are available. As a deepening of awareness of the senses arises, do they generate ripples in your mind?