Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

In the beginning of your practice, what did you focus on?

EvenThirdEvenThird NYC Veteran
edited November 2013 in Buddhism Basics
Hi all,

Besides the basics (4NT, 8FP) what was your main focus in contemplation/study in your early days of practice? Obviously I assume it would be a number of things.. so whatever you want to share for whatever reason will do.

(Like most of my questions, this one is prompted by curiosity)

Comments

• howhow Veteran Veteran
    My navel.
    EvenThirdriverflowJainarayancvalue
  • misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    edited November 2013
    i think it was to find a short-cut to make my mind become still - damn, later my theoretical understanding said that 'i' cannot make my mind to become still.
    EvenThird
  • bookwormbookworm U.S.A. Veteran
    edited November 2013
    For me learning how to pronounce pali words, I still struggle with it.
    EvenThird
  • Shingon teachings and focus on the five elements. Early practices involved karate kata done as a form of meditational ritual to develop an understanding of these elemental forces. This developed into more formal sitting with the elements as a focus.
    :)
    EvenThird
  • seeker242seeker242 Zen Florida, USA Veteran
    Just basic breathing meditation. And reading lots of books. The books were nice although not nearly as helpful as just breathing in and out. :)
    EvenThirdChazcvalueanataman
  • corkcork Explorer
    Daily routine. And more importantly, simply living my life.
    EvenThirdMaryAnne