Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Difficult meditation lately . . .

HamsakaHamsaka goosewhispererPolishing the 'just so' Veteran
Epilogue: You all know I write long posts, I'll try to keep this succinct, and thanks in advance if you take the time to read it through :-/ I'm fairly new to daily meditation, since the beginning of October. I was so "ready" to meditate (just how it felt) that I went easily up to 40 minutes per sitting, recently up to 45 in the last two weeks. The "technique" is focusing upon the breath, at my nostrils; doing a body sweep at the beginning to relax, and returning focus to the breath when my attention goes off with a thought. I either meditate the entire time this way, going into that access concentration (I guess) where thoughts flit by, or seem to be more like pieces of images and there is peacefulness. If there is an emotionally charged issue, I'll focus upon the sensation in my body and give myself metta, sometimes even seeing spontaneous imagery and 'hearing' though not in words per se, but there is communication going on. My heart center just throbs to the point it hurts physically, but even then after the meditation there is greater peacefulness and ease than before.

I meditate close to bedtime, it just seemed to work out that way. I've never fallen asleep during meditation except when I meditated in the afternoon, so late evening it's been.