Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Questions Regarding Time

I am new to both zen, and this community, and I wish to start of by saying hello, and thanks to lincoln for allowing me to join.

My question is in relation to my understanding of time.

What is meant by the illusion of time? I'm aware that the past does not exist - that it was a former now/present moment, so essentially, there is no such thing as past and future, but the present moment. Is this what is meant by the illusion of time?

Is it wrong to think about the former now? For example, if I had done something of ill nature in the former now, and I am thinking in the present moment (of this experience) without judgement (seeing it for what it is), but to learn, is this wrong?

In the book "Training the hand of Thought" Uchiyama gives the example of a man believing that he came from a prominent family with a lot of wealth, and feeling ashamed of his present situation (lack of wealth), and outlines that this is nothing more than being shackled to a conception of the past. What is Uchiyama saying here in relation to being shackled to a a conception of the past? Is this an example of the ego comparing time?

Thank you.

Comments

• That is shackling to past. You can use the past in your practice but don't let the time become the master rather than the servant.

Time is just a thought flitting through awareness. Really a memory is in the now. But the now is dependently arisen dependent on a notion of past and future.