Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What buddha did was it really what a normal human being can do?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited December 2013 in General Banter
hi all,

the first reaction to this question may usually come as this - of course, what buddha did - he did it as a human being - so obviously it can be done by a human being. moreover, what buddha taught was only for humans, so obviously it is possible for human beings to get awakened.

now, some of you shall be knowing that i am a hindu and not a buddhist. so the next thing, which may come to your mind is - since i am a hindu, that is why i may be thinking of buddha as an avatar of vishnu - but see, i have read somewhere that buddha was the 10th avatar of vishnu - but i do not believe in it - so you can keep it aside for the moment.

now coming to what actually made me think that what buddha did was very difficult, or even impossible, for a human being to do. if we see the story of buddha, when he was born, the astrologer commented that - he will be a great leader either in a form of a great king, or a great spiritual leader. now the first one is obvious as buddha or siddhartha was the son of a king, so obviously he can become a king - but spiritual leader this is something strange.

then, the day he left his kingdom, the story says - all the guards went asleep and so sidhartha, along with channa(his friend), moved out of the palace - so seems like it was destined for sidhartha to leave the palace and become a saint.