Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Is Tao another word for Emptiness or Shunyata?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited February 2014 in General Banter
hi all,

today i was browsing videos on you tube and i came across the below video url for Tao Te Ching book by Lao Tzu :

i heard it completely and found it very insightful. so thought of sharing the above video with you all.

moreover, Tao (or Dao - don't know which is the correct spelling, but it seems to be pronounced as Dao) seems to me like another word for Emptiness or Shunyata, which we have in Hinduism and Buddhism. also the Tao approach seems to me like Zen approach or the Hsin Hsin Ming approach. any comments or suggestions are welcome.

Comments

• RodrigoRodrigo São Paulo, Brazil Veteran
    What are the first two phrases from the Tao Te Ching? :)
    sova
  • The Dao – the way I see it – is a natural force that takes care of things, provided we don’t interfere too much.
    This aspect of trusting the natural way things are going is probably present in Chan/Zen because it developed in China.
    I don’t see such an idea prominently present in Theravada or Tibetan Buddhism.

A nice example is the (Zen-) meditation style of Shikantaza. It could be described as trusting the natural way things are going without interfering too much.
  • DavidDavid A human residing in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. Ancestral territory of the Erie, Haudenosaunee, Huron-Wendat, Mississauga and Neutral First Nations Veteran
    The Tao is the way. The way things go.

It could be likened to emptiness in that it is the potential for everything.

1=0=infinity / 2