Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Death meditation

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited May 2014 in Meditation

hi all,

do you do death meditation? if yes, then how do you do it? have you gained some insight doing it?

actually the thing is the way my life has passed till now, i am 32 years nearly now, i have not seen much deaths around me - you can get an idea about this thing that the only time i ever went to cremation ground was when my father-in-law expired nearly 2 years ago and we heard about my father-in-law's death through a phone call, then we went to his house and saw his dead body. since you all may be knowing that i am a hindu and from india, and since in hinduism the dead body is burnt to ashes, so the first time i actually saw a dead body burning was of my father-in-law. after that i have actually went to the ghat (a place beside river), where the dead bodies are burnt, in my city nearly 2 or 3 times - but now i have got bored even going there, as the same thing of dead-body getting burnt to ashes is repeatedly going on - and somehow it is not helping me to be more mindful.

somehow, even though, i understand that since i am born, so i will die - in other words, since my body has born, so it will die - but this fact does not make me any more mindful - i hope you are getting what i am trying to say - in other words, though i understand that my death can come at any moment, still somehow this thing is just a thought in my mind and is not provoking me to be more mindful.