Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Refuge Resolution

zenguitarzenguitar Bad BuddhistNew England Veteran

Greetings, compassionate Sangha. Given the degree to which I still stupidly cling to anger, greed, and other negative emotions to this very day, 20 years after I proudly proclaimed "I am a Buddhist," it seems that all of my previous (private) resolutions to this end have failed.

SO, I am posting this publicly for the first time, hoping it will finally "stick" (and I will stick to it):

I go to the Buddha for refuge.
I go to the Dharma for refuge.
I go to the Sangha for refuge.

So it seems that once again, I am a rank beginner. But that's ok. I never mastered the most basic lessons anyway.

Thank you for understanding. :)

howHamsakaBunkslobsterKundo

Comments

• ToraldrisToraldris   -`-,-{@     Zen Nud... Buddhist     @}-,-`-   East Coast, USA Veteran

The only resolutions I can get to stick are when I'm wholly fed up, such as wholly fed up with the nonsense mind generates (and I'm fairly there). I can't stop putting effort toward fully seeing through this, because I know on some level how empty it is. I'm creeping along slowly.

zenguitar
  • BuddhadragonBuddhadragon Ehipassiko & Carpe Diem Samsara Veteran

I agree with @Chaz about first and foremost being gentle with yourself. Treading the path should not be used as one more excuse to berate yourself.
    Which is also no excuse to let yourself off the hook every time,either.

Second, yes, resolutions should be taken lightly, as mere guideposts of what you would like to attain in life.