Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Mindfulness conundrum

zenguitarzenguitar Bad BuddhistNew England Veteran

A good Buddhist should perform every action with complete mindfulness. That means she can either a) walk or b) chew gum, but she should not walk and chew gum at the same time, because then her attention will be divided between the two actions.

Right?

Comments

• silversilver In the beginning there was nothing, and then it exploded. USA, Left coast. Veteran

Hi zenguitar,

I'm no expert, but I don't think they meant it quite like that ... no. :|

• BuddhadragonBuddhadragon Ehipassiko & Carpe Diem Samsara Veteran
    You could mindfully walk by chewing a gum.
    Whatever you do, be present, be there, be mindful...
    zenguitar
  • howhow Veteran Veteran

No. zenguitar.
    Both walking and chewing gum each constitutes a multiplicity of actions.

Mindfulness describes the observation of all arising, living and fading phenomena whether chewing, walking, doing both, or doing neither.

Mindlessness describes an obliviousness of any arising, living and fading phenomena whether chewing, walking, doing both, or doing neither.

Complete is one of those perfection adjectives that is more theoretical than experiential in my world.

zenguitarlobster
  • vinlynvinlyn Colorado...for now Veteran

Does anyone really advocate a person being "mindful" 24/7?

Bunks
  • DairyLamaDairyLama Veteran Veteran

@vinlyn said:

It's advocated in the suttas, see for example the final section "E" in the Satipatthana Sutta: http://www.accesstoinsight.org/tipitaka/mn/mn.010.than.html