Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Suffering is pointless and has no greater benefit

I am aware of what Buddhism has to say about suffering, acceptance of your suffering, and also that your suffering can have greater benefits and make you and your lives greater. However, I object to that notion and I have reasons (arguments) that I believe are very convincing as to why. I suffer from depression and anhedonia (emotional numbness) in which I have no ability to experience pleasure in life. I believe that this suffering has no greater benefit, does not make me or my life any greater and only makes me and my life truly inferior, and that me having full pleasure in life is true greatness that can be used to make yourself much more greater than if you had depression and anhedonia since depression and anhedonia only serve to make it that much more likely for you to do less great things in your life, be held back from your true greatness and potential, etc. So I will now explain my convincing arguments below. I am also a hedonist (which I will explain below with my paragraph later on that starts off with the phrase "I am a hedonist" and it is a very important explanation for you to know since I am not your average typical hedonist. My hedonistic beliefs are different):