Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Is enlightenment life itself?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited December 2014 in General Banter

Hi All,

In Dogen's Deigo Great Enlightenment, there is a story which says - there is no unelightened person in whole of China.

Also the way Dogen taught about enlightenment as being great or being boundaryless, does that indicate that being itself or life itself is the great enlightenment which Dogen meant?

Every moment is complete in itself and the great mystery which is there is life itself, and everything inside and outside is included in it. Also Dogen taught that satori or enlightenment is just an experience and the practice needs to be done on a moment by moment basis through out the life, so that which ultimately cannot be known, but the seeking of it continues through out the life, that great enlightenment is being itself or life itself?

So is enlightenment life itself? Please suggest. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

House painter/fine artist. Diff'rent strokes for diff'rent folks. Still 'each stroke of the brush'....

silveranatamanupekka
  • anatamananataman Who needs a title? Where am I? Veteran

Sometimes Zen is so subtle! ROFLMTO....

OK - I am composed again.

No one can answer this but your self.

upekka
  • @misecmisc1 said:

So is enlightenment life itself?

No.
    You are life itself, yet what do you experience?