Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Blindly stumbling along the path

MorningstarMorningstar Louisiana, USA Explorer

So I'm a newbie. I guess it's been about a month now since I've actually begun practicing meditation (or trying to practice) and studying the teachings. I believe it was early 2013 when i first became interested in Buddhism because it rang true in my ears. It was the truth I felt i had always known but hadn't really every paid attention to. I guess the question is.... is it really that simple? I've gotten a diary to keep track of anything that comes to me during meditation, I have a few books I've started to read an tons of audio talks via podcast. I feel like i'm trying to cultivate a "practice" but i'm not sure how to do it. I have this urge to recon attack it like everything else in my life (podcast, check. Buddhist book, check. yoga mat, check. yoga class, check.) but i don't have a routine, it's just a plan everyday that sometimes gets completed and sometimes it doesn't. I've even been thinking about doing a retreat, a short one just to submerge myself in that environment like a kick start of sorts.

I read that its OK to contemplate and discuss matters related to Dharma and the cessation of Dharma and I've been wishing there was a group of actual people I could meet with regularly but there aren't many sangha's here; southern Louisiana. Even typing this post i feel like i just need to shut up and meditate to figure it out.

Comments

• ChazChaz The Remarkable Chaz Anywhere, Everywhere & Nowhere Veteran

On the Buddhanet directory there seems to be a bunch of Buddhist centers in LA.