Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Understanding koans

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited January 2015 in General Banter

Hi All,

I came across the below koan:
Zen master Congshen of Zhaozhou [Zhenji] asked his teacher, Nanquan, “Where will the
one who knows go?”
Nanquan said, “To a donor’s house near the mountain, and become a water buffalo.”
Zhaozhou thanked him for his teaching.
Nanquan said, “Late last night the moonlight came through the window.”

I have not read the commentary on this case.

I was thinking about the above koan and below is my understanding of this koan:
Zhaozhou asked Nanquan about what will happen in the rebirth of one that knows. Nanquan replied by saying that that will become a water buffalo. The meaning which Nanquan was trying to say was just like the water buffalo is hooked up on a pole, so the mind which knows will be hooked up or grab hold of or cling to its knowing. Then Zhaozhou thanked him for the teaching. Then Nanquan said - Late last night the moonlight came through the window - meaning last night Zhaozhou experienced an awakening moment, when he realized that clinging to something is going to lead to a rebirth and so letting go of all knowing can lead to liberation.