Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Is counting of breaths method helpful?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited February 2015 in Meditation

Hi All,

Just wanted to check from you all whether counting of breaths method is any helpful in sitting practice of either Anapanasati sutta or Zazen? i know these are two different meditations, but my meditation is no where in either direction. so i try to just sit and then try to observe the breath. My breathing pattern is too irregular in that after an in-breath, the out-breath comes immediately and is hardly noticeable most of the times and then there is a long duration when the next in-breath comes - so in a way a lot of time for thoughts to come and my ignorant mind getting entangled in thoughts - so after sometime getting passed in being entangled in thought, then a thought arises that i had to watch breath, then i try to observe the breath. The situation gets complicated as I said in another thread of mine that whenever I observe my breath, it turns from natural breathing to cautious breathing - even if i do not want to change my breath, but my focussing my attention on my breath changes my breath. Moreover, the whole sitting duration on analysis breaks down to checking my sitting posture for erect spine, momentarily noticing the breath and for more than 80% of time getting entangled in thoughts and sometimes hearing the external sounds.