Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Giving respect to Buddha.

I'm new in the practice. I'm just wondering if it is enough to respect the Buddha with the Namo chanting as I always hear it from the talks - I came from christian tradition and for me it is not proper to meditate in front of the Buddha statue without giving respect. Am I in the right practice? Is there other chanting I can use before meditating? Thanks.

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

I frankly don't prescribe to all this nonsense (and excuse the word, but that is my opinion of the practice.)

The buddha isn't God, he was just a man. And he's dead.
    Just sit, bow if you need to, and meditate.
    Really, there's nothing complicated about it.

There are several different schools, practices and traditions to choose from.
    The one you refer to is the only one which insists that chanting is a pre-requisite.

Buddha_Fan22
  • federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

And excuse my manners.
    Welcome to the forum, it's lovely to have you here.

Did you mean your forum name to be 'Monkeymind'...?

Earthninja
  • lobsterlobster Veteran
    edited February 2015

@mockeymind said: