Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Demonic Possession in Buddhism

Hello everybody, I just wanted to ask something maybe irrelevant in buddhism, but I came from a culture (east asia) who believes in demons and possessions - I need an answer about how buddhism deals with the idea of demonic possession.

I am just new to the practice, just last year and the tradition that I'm following doesn't mention much of it, or maybe I am not searching well) . If there is really a such thing, is there is a mantra,prayer that buddhist recites to protect oneself?

Here is what I know at this moment.

-That everything that is happening is a result of "cause and effect" and whatever will manifest in the future is a result of what we thought at the present moment.

-That the mind is capable of putting ourselves on that path of enlightenment as well as suffering. That is it in our shoulder that depends our own future.

-That practicing or following the lay buddhist five precepts is "almost/enough" to have live in a present moment to have a clear thought. And therefore not to worry about what lies ahead.

-In my limited understanding, what I thought of possession or whatever they called it. Is a result of "preconditioned" mind from the past- (this life or previous) That gives way the power to manifest here at the present moment (as if all conditions are meet)