Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How do I develop a practice?

Hello everyone. I am new to Buddhism and would like to incorporate it into my life. I'm not sure how to develop a practice, though.

I came to Buddhism after searching for some relief from my anxiety. That makes me wonder whether I should start off with Right Mindfulness.

I'd appreciate any help.

Zenni

Comments

• bookwormbookworm U.S.A. Veteran
    edited April 2015

If you decide to practice mindfulness of breathing then know when you're breathing in long or out long, or breathing in short or out short, simply watch the breath closely without locating it anywhere, and if after a little while you start to notice breathing is happening by itself then I would say from my own experience that, that it is a good sign indicating that your not controlling the breath and have mindfulness of breathing.

BuddhadragonZenni
  • BuddhadragonBuddhadragon Ehipassiko & Carpe Diem Samsara Veteran

To begin with, you should have a good idea of what the Buddhist path entails: the Four Noble Truths and the Noble Eightfold Path are a self-help system in itself.

Your practice should cover all three pillars of the Buddhist practice: Morality (Right Speech, Right Action and Right Livelihood), Concentration (Right Effort, Right Mindfulness and Right Concentration) and Wisdom (Right View and Right Intention).

Right View is the alfa and omega of the Path, since cessation of suffering results from development of insight, liberation from ignorance, seeing things as they are.