Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

I have trouble finding where I belong within Buddhism.

GoibhniuGoibhniu New
edited June 2015 in Buddhism Basics

Since high school, I've made values and wise words of Buddhism a part of my life. These values have helped balance my views of others, myself, and have helped my depression even in its worst times. As well, I'm a soldier of the U.S. Army and while some may see part of that job as violent, I find that protection of something or someone is a different thing. I value life. Even gave up consumption of any animal product. I've accepted death as an inevitable thing, but in such a positive light, that my depression could never convince me to let go of my own life. I carry a bone mala of skull beads to remind myself of death and the ox it was made from. It always reminds me that the end of ones life should not be feared, taken likely, and that there are burdens that one must carry, but carry them with strength. That's always helped me in my own way.

That was a bit lengthy. But I just wanted to share a little of who I am to simply ask what practice of Buddhism seems fitting to me? While I carry a mala and have some values of Buddism as my own, I want to get deeper into a practice.

silverDavid

Comments

• FoibleFullFoibleFull Canada Veteran
    edited June 2015

I have been practicing Buddhism (with a monk/teacher) for over 14 years, and I STILL am not sure where I fit into Buddhism.
    This is okay.
    In order to fit in, to force myself into this format or that, I would have to start shutting doors to learning, to discovering.