Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How much do you think is knowing of the body important?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran

hi all,

we are in our body - this is ok, but regarding how the breath is flowing in our body, where is the tension in our body, how the breath as energy is flowing throughout our nervous system - how much do you think being in your body/knowing your body as it is functioning currently is important in your practice? any suggestions/inputs/ideas in this area please. thanks in advance.

yagrEarthninja

Comments

• karastikarasti Breathing Minnesota Moderator

I agree with @lobster. Very important to me for many reasons. Your body is the house of everything else (at least for now), knowing what it is doing and why has a big impact on the rest. Can't really have a gourmet kitchen if your walls and roof are caving in!

On a Buddhist level, it keeps that connection between mind and body strong. I find it invaluable for my meditation and for absorbing what I learn/teachings.

On a practical level I just find it fascinating. We can get in touch with our bodies to a degree we can have more control over what our cells are doing even. I keep a big journal where I keep track of everything, just because I like making connections between what I eat, how I sleep, the weather, even the moon phase, and what my body and mind are doing in connection with them. It's quite interesting.

namarupayagrmisecmisc1
  • DairyLamaDairyLama Veteran Veteran
    edited July 2015