Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Freshness

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran

hi all,

good morning.

theoretically i understand that each moment is new and each moment can be so short that i may not be able to see its arising and ceasing.

but why i do not feel the freshness of each moment? if i am suppose just sitting as said in zazen and there is not much external noise, then how do i feel the freshness of each moment - after all, if suppose i sit for 5 minutes, then the wall which is in front of me at the 1 min is the same wall at the 2 min - i cannot forget at 2nd minute that at 1st minute i had not seen that wall, nor i do not know that it is a wall. here if we try to go into the emptiness way of seeing there is no wall, then what am i doing in meditation because at that moment level, which can be so short, what can be done in that moment.

so where would the question arise - what is it? meaning how would the curiosity of mind arising trying to figure out what is new in this moment and how to feel its freshness?

please suggest. thanks in advance.

Comments

• Well so are you finding some moments are not fresh?

lobsterZero
  • Tee Hee.

Fresh boredom eh? Fresh past moments awareness eh?

Well said @Jeffrey B)

Ah fresh seeking freshness ... not fresh awareness ... some other fresh stuff etc
    etc freshness ... o:)

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator