Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Happiness

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited February 2016 in General Banter

hi all,

what is that happiness, which is not based on conditions - or - what is that true happiness which is referred to in Therevada teachings? Is true happiness a quality of Bodhichitta - or - is Bodhichitta nothing but true happiness?

please suggest. thanks in advance.

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

Probably.

• genkakugenkaku Northampton, Mass. U.S.A. Veteran

If you defined it, would it any longer be true happiness?

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

What do you think it is, @misecmisc1 ...?

Vastmind
  • rohitrohit Maharrashtra Veteran
    edited February 2016

A man said to the Buddha, “I want Happiness.”
    Buddha said, first remove “I”, that’s ego,
    then remove “want”, that’s desire.
    See now you are left with only Happiness.

Shoshin
  • DavidDavid A human residing in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. Ancestral territory of the Erie, Haudenosaunee, Huron-Wendat, Mississauga and Neutral First Nations Veteran

@misecmisc1 said:
    hi all,

what is that happiness, which is not based on conditions - or - what is that true happiness which is referred to in Therevada teachings? Is true happiness a quality of Bodhichitta - or - is Bodhichitta nothing but true happiness?