Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Mindfulness while driving & listening to radio

Li2asusanneLi2asusanne N. AZ, near Grand Canyon New

I am very new to this. I just began investigating Buddhist practices over the past month and have been reading "Mindfulness in Plain English" and a few other books that were recommended to me. I have been trying to be mindful in everything I do (which I am finding quite difficult!) and I ran into a problem this morning. While commuting to work (a 40 minute drive) I was listening to an episode of Serial (a radio show) and I could not figure out how to stay present while trying to listen to the show. How does this work?

Comments

• silversilver In the beginning there was nothing, and then it exploded. USA, Left coast. Veteran

Hiya @Li2asusanne, it's not a science really, so it's flexible. Simply put, you can choose to be mindful of the show you're listening to, or you can turn the radio off and be mindful of the sights and sounds going on around you as you commute. It doesn't matter which way you go, and you could even try both, but as a beginner so to speak, I'd try one at a time to start with.

• karastikarasti Breathing Minnesota Moderator