Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Suggestion to give to an old person

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited June 2016 in General Banter

Hi All,

Yesterday I along with my parents went to my friend's house to meet them and to see my friend's grandfather. I sat beside my friend's grandfather. He was a very intelligent, hard-working person, who started a small shop, which is now being taken care by my friend's father. Still sometimes my friend tells me that his father asks for some business decision advice from his grandfather. But the physical situation of his grandfather has deteriorated much over the last 5 months. I do not know much details about his current medical situation, but what I heard is he is now 24 hours on bed and is going to be on bed for the remaining part of his life.

when yesterday I sat beside his grandfather, I saw Shreemad Bhagwad Geeta along side on the table, next to his bed. I became curious and asked him if he has read it, then he said he is reading it these days. Since I have already read it, so I told him that I had read it and it is very insightful. Then he started talking to me about it, about rebirth and karma. Then he asked me that how can he now create good karma for himself, since he is on bed now and is not even able to sit on bed by himself. I said to him that I will let him know.

I was thinking of suggesting him to have good thoughts for others - but I don't know would it really help him make good karma. In other words, just having some thoughts for the good for others, without having the real intention behind it - will it make good karma for him?