Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Plants

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran

Hi All,

a question on rebirth - are plants considered a realm in which rebirth can happen, like human realm, animal realm etc? is there any sutta in which it is said that rebirth can happen as plants and trees?

are plants considered alive? does plucking away a leaf from a tree causes some hurt to plants?

any information on plants, which any sutta says something said by Buddha about plants over the above topic? Please suggest. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited June 2016

@misecmisc1 said:
    Hi All,

a question on rebirth - are plants considered a realm in which rebirth can happen, like human realm, animal realm etc? is there any sutta in which it is said that rebirth can happen as plants and trees?

No.

are plants considered alive? does plucking away a leaf from a tree causes some hurt to plants?

Yes they are alive. No they are not sentient.

any information on plants, which any sutta says something said by Buddha about plants over the above topic? Please suggest. Thanks in advance.

Not that I know of.

Just eat your cabbage, and don't worry.

Read this discussion.

• rohitrohit Maharrashtra Veteran
    edited June 2016

Sometimes I feel plants are enlighten beings because most of them, does not react violently and react pleasantly unlike animals.

iamnot