Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Non-duality

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran

Hi All,

what is this non-duality? or in other words, what is this oneness of all things? i see a chair in a room, but i and chair are different things. if we take it to matter and consciousness, then matter and consciousness are different things. So is there something like non-duality, or oneness, which is referred to in spiritual teachings? How to experience non-duality? Any ideas please. thanks in advance.

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

You and chair are different things. But a chair and a chair (inanimate, non-sentient compounded objects) are the same, just as you and another human being, are the same.
    You are not a chair, a chair is not you.
    You are every human being, and every human being is you.

I struggle with this on one level, but happily believe and accept this on another.
    MY task, is to even up the difference....

herbertoRuddyDuck9
  • federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

Good points @kerome, I had not taken the comparison to that extent, because I was simply thinking on an immediate-perception level.