Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Koan discussion

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran

Hi All,

In the koan of polishing a tile, when Mazu was sitting in zazen, then Nanyen asked what is your intention behind zazen, then Mazu replied my intention is to become a Buddha.

So is zazen an act which leads to becoming Buddha, or is zazen becoming Buddha in itself? If zazen is becoming Buddha in itself, then why specifically the posture of zazen, instead it should be in every posture which can be made in any situation? Please suggest. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• lobsterlobster Veteran

There is nothing special about zazen. There is everything special about attention/awareness. We are all aware of that ... through practice ...

Time to polish. No tiling required ...

JeroenupekkaRuddyDuck9
  • JeroenJeroen Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter Netherlands Veteran

As I understand it, the posture is most conducive to correct attention. Eventually you carry the attention with you to other postures and then movements, all the way to washing the dishes... Which is also an activity of polishing :)

RuddyDuck9
  • DairyLamaDairyLama Veteran Veteran

They are just trying to clean off those yucky clinging aggregates - oops, wrong tradition. :p

upekkaRuddyDuck9
  • DavidDavid A human residing in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. Ancestral territory of the Erie, Haudenosaunee, Huron-Wendat, Mississauga and Neutral First Nations Veteran
    edited July 2016

@misecmisc1 said:
    Hi All,