Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Spiritual practice

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran

It seems to me that the essence of spiritual practice is - don't hold on to anything or let go of everything.

upekka

Comments

• ShoshinShoshin No one in particular Nowhere Special Veteran

"Sabbe dhamma nalam abhinivesaya" "Nothing whatsoever should be clung to"

upekkaRuddyDuck9namarupamisecmisc1
  • federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

@Shoshin sums it up, @misecmisc1 ...

• RuddyDuck9RuddyDuck9 MD, USA Veteran

every day I disapoint myself with some silly desire or other, and when I feel sad or bad about it, then I think... ogh! there's that dhukka again!

• namarupanamarupa Veteran
    edited August 2016

Sometimes I feel there is a point that is overlooked. Contentment and equanimity can be the result as well as how to practice. I feel the same way with "letting go", it can be a result as well as the practice itself. What am I missing?

@namarupa I don't think you're missing anything!

namarupa
  • namarupanamarupa Veteran
    edited August 2016

@RuddyDuck9 said:
    @namarupa I don't think you're missing anything!

Thank you. ;) Its making more sense now. Buddhist practice is the most wise and benevolent investment. You get what you put in if not more. :chuffed:

RuddyDuck9lobster