Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What is our true self?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran

Hi All,

Regarding the question What is our true self? or What was our face before our parents were born?, something just came to my mind on hearing this insightful talk from Suzuki Roshi https://youtube.com/watch?v=IiKGRvmavsA

so the answer to the above question seems to me is our aliveness or our consciousness - may be saying its ours might not be correct, since there is no 'us' as an entity inside us, so nothing can be ours - but if somebody asks us this question regarding what is our face before our parents were born?, then we can answer as our aliveness or our consciousness on a relative level.

may be on ultimate reality level, there is just aliveness or some continuity of consciousness, but what that is - i think words cannot express as it is prior to language.

above thoughts came to my mind on hearing above talk from Suzuki Roshi.

your thoughts over my above thoughts? may be it is complete non-sense which i have written above.

Shoshin

Comments

• There's a concept in Mahayana Buddhism called "True Self", but that's different from what you're referring to, I think. In any case, "True Self" as the Buddha taught, is our Buddhanature, should we be fortunate enough to bring to realization our Buddhanature.