Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Pentagon Meditation Club

The year was 1988. President Reagan was busy selling us on something called the SDI program that was supposed to shoot down ICBMs before they could hit us, an impossible dream but the cold war was still going strong.

I was a young Tech Sergeant in the USAF, stationed at the Pentagon after a wonderful eye-opening three year tour in Korea. There I'd spent as much time as I could at a little temple close to the base, learning Korean Zen. I'd been traveling deeper into the Koans and Metta Practice and well understood the paradox of a warrior practicing Buddhism. In fact, I would retire from the service within a couple of years.

But in the meantime, I was happy to find out from a flier that there was an actual Meditation Club in the Pentagon that met at lunchtime for an hour every day. This club was founded and ran by Ed Winchester, a civil service guy who took some TM classes and fancied himself a bit of a psychic. My personal opinion was that he was a bit of a nut, actually, but a harmless if determined nut who had to fight the many fundamentalist Christians to be allowed a tiny room for an hour each day. In fact he was suspended and would have been fired several times over this little meditation group after their complaints, if it wasn't nearly impossible to fire a civil servant unless you were gay or a communist.