Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Have a question!!

edited June 2005 in Buddhism Basics
Hello, this is my first time posting here. I've resently been looking up information about Buddhism because I'm thinking of becoming one. I think that the views of Buddhism are much more suited for me than any other religion.....But back to my question!

Before I started searching information on Buddhism, one of my friends told me that Buddhism accepted all the religions, saying that it was just another path to god/heaven. I just wanted to see if that was true before I start saying that too anyone else. Also, if I do become a Buddhist, is it alright for me to join my family in Mass for Chirstmas and Easter?

Comments

• edited June 2005
    There is no conflict, insofar as Buddhism is concerned, with you practicing Buddhist principles and also joining your family for Christmas Mass.

There is likely a conflict in regards to the Catholic teaching regarding Buddhism, but that may or may not be an issue with most people.

We should respect other's religious beliefs, even if we disagree with them. Any philosophy which teaches the Four Noble Truths and the Noble Eightfold Path is valid.

Of course you should join with your family for holidays -- they are your family. You should love them and respect them, and, in turn, they should love and respect you.
  • SimonthepilgrimSimonthepilgrim Veteran
    edited June 2005
    Hello GetPocky55,

I am sure that Brian and the others will also welcome you but I got here before them! So: Welcome to a wonderfully supportive Buddhist site.