Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Concentration

skullchinskullchin Veteran
edited December 2009 in Meditation
I've been meditating for about 17 months, and usually when the timer goes off I'm at least partially in some thought. I'm worried I'm not developing concentration. Any advice/wisdom?

Comments

• edited December 2009
    The time between your meditation sessions is called in-between sessions. In-between sessions and the actual meditation sessions make up the thing called meditation.

In other words you have to act skilfully off the cushion as well. If you blow up at somebody, or become arrogant with someone on the net, or inundate your physical senses, you will not be able to meditate for a good number of days. The same is true of subtle disturbance and emotional noise if it becomes constant and/or is always ready to lead you to unwholesome thoughts.

Furthermore its hard to stick to meditation if you don't know much about it. Because one will not know where they are going or how they will get there, they cannot set intentions, monitor specifics, etcetc.

For learning about meditation: COURSE 3: Applied Meditation
  • fivebellsfivebells Veteran
    edited December 2009
    How quickly do you realize you're thinking?
  • skullchinskullchin Veteran
    edited December 2009
    aaki wrote: »
    The same is true of subtle disturbance and emotional noise

What do you mean by this?
    edited December 2009
    fivebells wrote: »
    How quickly do you realize you're thinking?